WHAT HAPPENS IF I DON’T TAKE CARE OF MY TRAFFIC CITATION BY THE APPEARANCE DATE?
Failure to appear on or before your appearance date as listed on the citation may result in a $300 civil assessment penalty being added to the original bail amount and a referral to a collection agency pursuant to Penal Code section 1214.1, or a warrant for your arrest and/or suspension of your driver’s license.
IF MY LICENSE HAS BEEN SUSPENDED DUE TO A “FAILURE TO APPEAR,“ HOW CAN I GET IT BACK?
If you hire an attorney to represent you, once an appearance is made, the court will remove the hold on your license. If you appear on your own behalf, the court may keep the hold on your license until the entire matter has been disposed of.
WHAT SHOULD I DO IF I DID NOT RECEIVE A NOTICE FROM THE COURT ADVISING ME OF THE BAIL AMOUNT FOR MY CITATION?
Courtesy notices” as they are called are often not sent or received. If you don’t receive a courtesy notice from the court prior to your appearance date, contact the appropriate court as listed at the bottom of your citation to determine whether your citation has been filed by the citing officer and what bail amount you must pay if you don’t contest the ticket.
WHAT ARE THE ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS FOR TRAFFIC SCHOOL?
In general, you are eligible to attend traffic school if you have not attended for eighteen months prior to receiving the citation. However, California Rules of Court 851(c) lists offenses that are ineligible including but not limited to speeding more than 25 miles in excess of the posted speed limit. However, we have been able to reach agreements with the court to provide driver’s who are otherwise ineligible, the opportunity to attend traffic school.
MAY COMMERCIAL DRIVERS ATTEND TRAFFIC SCHOOL?
As of January 2014, commercially licensed drivers may attend traffic once every 18 months if they were driving their personal vehicle at the time of the alleged violation. However, although DMV will remove the point from your driving record, it will not shield the conviction from your employer and/or insurance company. Accordingly, it is still imperative to most CDLs that their charge either be dismissed or amended to a ‘non-moving’ violation.
DO I HAVE TO PAY A FEE TO THE COURT TO ATTEND TRAFFIC SCHOOL AND A FEE TO THE TRAFFIC SCHOOL?Yes. The court will require you to pay an administrative traffic school fee of $52 in addition to the amount of any fine imposed. The traffic school you choose to attend will then also charge you a fee ranging anywhere from $9 to $35.
WILL A CALIFORNIA TICKET SHOW UP ON AN OUT-OF-STATE DRIVER’S RECORD?
California reports traffic violations to all fifty states and Canada. The violation normally will be posted to your record and treated as if you received it in your home state. However, a few states will not enter minor out-of-state traffic tickets. The only way to be certain how the California violation will be treated is to contact the DMV in your state.
HOW MANY POINTS DOES IT TAKE FOR A CALIFORNIA LICENSE TO BE SUSPENDED BY THE DMV?
In general, your license will be suspended by the DMV if you get 4 points in 12 months; 6 points in 24 months; or 8 points in 36 months.
CAN THE COURT SUSPEND MY LICENSE?
It can and generally will if you are found guilty of driving in excess of 100 miles per hour, road rage, reckless driving (usually a citation containing three or more moving violation allegations), or failure to stop at a railroad crossing.
DO YOU ACCEPT CREDIT CARDS?
Yes, we accept Visa but there is a nonrefundable 5% charge by the credit card company.
Please feel free to call us with any questions you may have!